TAAKE reveals details of seventh full-length album

Nestled within the looming embrace of seven mountains, the rugged, rain-swept coastline of Bjoergvin has spawned many extreme bands and musicians over the years, but none quite as iconic as TAAKE and its formidable founder Hoest, who is now back with a seventh full-length album. Titled “Kong Vinter” (King Winter), the album is set for release on Dark Essence Records on the 24th November in Digipak CD, Digital and Vinyl formats, with the Vinyl available in black, transparent and white versions. All are double, 180 gram LPs in a gatefold cover. Transparent and white are limited to 1000 each.

Over the years Hoest has steered his creation with unerring accuracy through the mire of Black Metal. He has avoided the pitfalls of either stagnation or over-experimentation, and remained true to the spirit of the traditional Black Metal genre, whilst at the same time breathing fresh life into it.

Taake - Kong Vinter

Taake – Kong Vinter

True to form Hoest has spent three years working on “Kong Vinter”, ensuring that the album is imbued with the unique Taake sound, whilst at the same time taking it even further. It is deceptively familiar to the ear, yet it is unpredictable as it winds its way sinuously through a soundscape that only a mother could love. A soundscape underscored by a nasty groove, that at times can seem devilishly playful.

The result is an album that is both progressive and straight forward, with a touch of the devil’s own music – Rock’n’Roll, making it unmistakably TAAKE. It is, in fact, an illustration as to why, for over two decades, Hoest has succeeded in remaining relevant and at the forefront of the genre.

“Kong Vinter”, on which Hoest plays all the instruments himself, was recorded and produced by Bjornar Nilsen (VULTURE INDUSTRIES) at his Conclave and Earshot Studios in Bergen. With a running time of 55 minutes and album artwork by Tom Korsvold of Coverart, track listing is as follows:

1. Sverdets Vei
2. Inntrenger
3. Huset i Havet
4. Havet i Huset
5. Jernhaand
6. Maanebrent
7. Fra Bjoergegrend mot Glemselen
8. On Top (DE PRESS cover, bonus track on the vinyl edition)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.